You Need An Advocate In Motor Vehicle Accident Claims
The California Highway Patrol reported that there were 452,595 traffic collisions in California in 2008. Of that total, there were 170,496 collisions in which drivers or passengers were injured. Another 3,113 accidents involved fatalities. On average, one person was injured every 2 minutes and 10 seconds, and one person was killed every 2 hours and 35 minutes as a result of a traffic collision in California. California has not had a day without a traffic fatality since September 12, 2000.
If you are the victim of an automobile, truck or bus accident, you need the help of a personal injury attorney to protect your rights and ensure that your case is handled properly. We will file your claim for you. We will make the necessary reports to the Department of Motor Vehicles for you. We will be there with you when the other driver’s insurance company wants to take your statement. We know the law, and we know how to apply it to your case.
California law requires drivers who are involved in accidents to prove financial responsibility. Drivers meet this requirement by having liability insurance with limits of at least $15,000 for one person or $30,000 for two or more persons injured in an accident. Many at fault drivers have higher limits. If you are not at fault for the accident, the other driver’s liability insurance will be responsible for the reasonable costs of your medical care and other damages, up to the limits of the other driver’s policy.
If the other driver is not insured, your own insurance can pay for your damages if you have Uninsured Motorist and/or Medical Payments coverage on your policy. Also, if the other driver’s policy limits are insufficient to cover all of your damages, a claim can be brought through your Underinsured Motorist coverage for your own insurance to pay the difference.
Uninsured drivers who are injured in an accident caused by a driver who does have insurance can recover economic damages, such as the cost of medical care, loss of income and diminution of earning capacity. However, California law precludes the recovery of noneconomic damages, such as pain and suffering, emotional distress, and inconvenience, for drivers who do not have insurance. There are only limited circumstances under which the law allows uninsured drivers to recover noneconomic damages; for example, if the at-fault party was driving under the influence.
We Are On Your Side In Vehicle Accident Cases
It is risky to try to handle a motor vehicle collision claim without the help of a personal injury lawyer. Let us put our experience to work for you. Contact Kroger-Diamond & Campos for a free consultation today. Call us in San Diego at 619-826-1794, in North County at 442-232-2259, or fill out our online form and one of our of team members will follow up with you promptly.